Three centuries of music for cello and piano.

“Piena Voce”, full voice in Greek, is the first performance instruction in Prokofiev’s sonata for cello and piano and at the same time a reference of historical importance.

The cello’s full voice set it apart from its ancestors, such as the viola da gamba, and inspired the most important composers in history to write works for it.

The piano was his companion in this development and the two instruments together acquired an impressive repertoire that includes some of the most important works of classical music.

The two distinguished musicians, the cellist Michalis Heupel and the pianist Dora Manitaki, collaborate to present 4 important sonatas from the repertoire of the two instruments from the last 3 centuries. Starting from the Baroque with a much-played transcription of Willem de Fesch’s sonata in D minor and ending with Sergei Prokofiev’s sonata, a masterpiece of 20th century music. The central work is also the sonata no. 3 by Ludwig van Beethoven which is considered the first work in which the two instruments interact as equals. The program is completed by Alexander Tcherepnin’s sonata, which bears all the elements of the peculiar personality of its cosmopolitan composer.


Willem de Fesch (1687-1761)

Sonata No. 3, op.8 σε ρε ελλασσονα

– Siciliano – Allemande

– Arietta

– Minuetto I/II

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Sonata No. 3, op.69 σε λα μείζωνα

– Allegro, ma non tanto

– Scherzo. Allegro molto

– Adagio cantabile

– Allegro vivace

Break Time

Αlexander Tcherepnin (1899-1977)

Sonata No. 3, Op. 30 No. 2

– Allegro moderato

– Andantino

– Presto

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)

Sonata for Cello and Piano, op. 119

– Andante grave

– Moderato

– Allegro, ma non troppo

More information about the musicians can be seen :

Organisation: Municipality of Chania – KEPPEDIH  KAM


Wednesday, August 9, 2023

Time: 20.30

Grand  Arsenal

General admission: €5

Free entry: up to 18 years old

Source :